Skip to content

Establishing Committee

Welsh Assembly Government

Establishing Committee

The Establishing Committee of the All Wales Convention was set up by the First Minster and the Deputy First Minster to advise on how the All Wales Convention referred to in chapter 2 of the One Wales Programme of Government should operate.

The members of the establishing committee were:

  • Labour AMs: Christine Chapman(Co-Secretary), Lynne Neagle, Jeff Cuthbert, Alun Davies;
  • Plaid Cymru AMs: Helen Mary Jones (Co-Chair), Alun Ffred Jones, Nerys Evans, Dai Lloyd;
  • Labour MPs: Nick Ainger (Co-Chair), Nia Griffith, Jessica Morden, Ian Lucas;
  • Plaid Cymru MPs: Elfyn Llwyd, Adam Price, Hywel Williams, and additional Plaid Cymru member Cynog Dafis (Co-Secretary)

The Committee met between December 2007 and March 2008 and agreed draft Terms of Reference for the Convention.

The Committee agreed the overall approach that should be taken to the work of the Convention.  The aim was to ensure that the Convention works effectively to facilitate a broad debate so that the best possible advice is available to political parties and the Welsh Assembly Government to inform the decision about a referendum on Part 4 powers.

The First Minister and Deputy First Minister accepted the Establishing Committee's recommendations in March 2008.

View the report of the Establishing Committee.